Book Review

Book Review: The Colour Purple by Alice Walker

The Color Purple is a 1982 epistolary novel by American author Alice Walker which won the 1983 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and the National Book Award for Fiction. It was later adapted into a film and musical of the same name. Taking place mostly in rural Georgia, the story focuses on the life of women of color in the southern United States in the 1930s, addressing numerous issues including their exceedingly low position in American social culture. The novel has been the frequent target of censors and appears on the American Library Association list of the 100 Most Frequently Challenged Books of 2000-2009 at number seventeen because of the sometimes explicit content, particularly in terms of violence.

This book broke my heart and then restored it. It was published in 1982 and is a winner of the Pulitzer prize. There is a reason it is in every list you will find out there of the greatest books of all time. It makes the cut…hands down.
I bought this book because remembered I had heard about it in high school from a roommate and then it was my favorite color just screaming at me, “pick me pick me” so how could I resist(Mimi…nikatae kitabu…Mimi)

I tried to picture if that was the story of my life with my Sister…us just communicating unconventionally…and i was grateful despite the fact that my sister and I have had our fair share. But it was quite harrowing. And its not just a leisure book…it guts your heart by reminding you of what slavery did to those who were lucky to stay and those who had no choice but to leave. It was an event whose repercussions are still being felt over a century later and i think understanding what happened then help us understand our future as humanity.

Its catchy, its raw…It will stay with you forever. April has brought some good books in my life and this one is definitely a highlight of the year. And it resonates a lot with many themes in the world of identity, family, rape, physical abuse, employer-employee relationships… i could go on forever…Its just a dope book.

Get it in a store near you and its also very commonplace so you can also get it at the inama bookshops

Some excerpts:

“I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don’t notice it.”

“A grown child is a dangerous thing.”

“The Olinka girls do not believe girls should be educated. When I asked a mother why she thought this, she said: A girl is nothing to herself; only to her husband can she become something.
What can she become? I asked.
Why, she said, the mother of his children.
But I am not the mother of anybody’s children, I said, and I am something.”

“All my life I had to fight. I had to fight my daddy. I had to fight my brothers. I had to fight my cousins and my uncles. A girl child ain’t safe in a family of men. But I never thought I’d have to fight in my own house. She let out her breath. I loves Harpo, she say. God knows I do. But I’ll kill him dead before I let him beat me.”

 

Leave a Reply

