Book Review

BOOK REVIEW: HOMEGOING by Yaa Gyasi

index

So I’m kind of late reading this book. But life would be boring if we were always on time, on schedule, on point. The missed moments are the ones that make it so amazing. As long as you still do it. You cant fake it till you make it forever, something has to give. Okay, I’m digressing!

Anyway, so I read this book in less than 24hrs. I’m seriously not kidding AT ALL! I couldn’t put it down, okay close the pdf reader on my pc. It’s a great book. I’m even tempted not to say anything about it so that you just go read it for yourself. I think great African authors are the coolest because they capture the African spirit beautifully. A line in the book actually says…”a good book to you is one you can feel” I definitely felt it. Because this young new blood of Yaa Gyasi transported me in this book to two centuries ago, and I came full circle at the last line (PS: I’m totally rooting for a sequel in like another 200 years because it felt…unfinished…a good kind of unfinished though. And that it is just her first book makes me think that there is more from this talented author that is just as good as our beloved Chimamanda

Speaking of Chimamanda, its a lot like half of a yellow sun but it begins from the beginning, from way back in the 1700s. (Also have you read her new writing on the Complete Guide to Raising A Feminist?…read it here. And the beauty about it is that it is fast-paced and in no time you have crossed oceans, colonialism has become past tense (Did it really end?…Okay that’s a whole new discussion for later) and technology is brought to life in the book.

So the book is arranged into chapters that tell the story of the lineage of this family and how the different paths each of the members of this “cursed” (I know!!!!) family have each led have somehow brought them back home. If you are looking for a book that speaks about African heritage and culture, the role of history, colonialism, women in society, slavery, drug abuse, parent-children relationships etc…then you are in for a lovely treat.

I can’t say anymore because the book is only 200 pages (Just 200 only:-)) and I understand why Text Book Center chose it as their book of the month for September. It’s a gem and I’ll even avoid giving snippets of phrases in the book like I always do with my other book reviews just to let y’all enjoy it that much more. If you want a copy just write your email in the comments section and I will get it to you! or get a hard copy from a bookshop for I think Ksh 1000 or 10 USD, equivalent.

PS: Someone asked me “Kwani all the books you read are nice because you don’t say bad things in your book reviews” Well two things. First, I don’t write reviews of everything I read, just the ones that truly truly stand out. Plus I read a lot. It would be bad to subject you to books that I myself did not enjoy and even worse to technical stuff that I read more often than not like IAS, IFRS, CFA or CPA. Secondly, I don’t think anyone can say that a book is bad. That is really unfair to the person who wrote it. They put their life’s work into it and I know how hard it is to come up with a paragraph let alone a 500 page novel and for that, I have deep respect for writers. I will probably not agree with one or two things based on my opinion but I don’t go as far as saying a book was a waste of my time. I believe everyone you will ever meet knows something you don’t and that keeps me open-minded to learning from anything…and everything…even a not-so-cuddly book

Happy reading! 🙂

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: HOMEGOING by Yaa Gyasi

Leave a Reply

