Book Review

BOOK REVIEW: ECHOES BY DANIELLE STEELE

 

DD

So I am the kind of person who did not history that much in high school. That said, I always found innovative ways to learn something about the past whatever it may be so that I could understand the present and make a mind frame of the past. With such background I think it was why I enjoyed this book so much and why I’m so thrilled it is the first book I’m starting the new year with. Gives me something to hope for and think about deeply as the year starts. Clean slates as many would like to call it.

I have always loved Danielle Steele books because she is one strange woman. To be capable of writing and weaving different scenarios from different countries that she herself has not lived but with such clarity…I believe she is one gifted woman. Plus, the fact that she has been married severally and divorced and she has a horde of children the size of a football field. Some of her life seeps into her writing sometimes. I don’t know how old she is (I will have to Google that) but I don’t think she witnessed the horrors of the world wars. And speaking of which aren’t we in such blessed times that we have not had a world war in over half a century…especially when the first two were less than 20 years apart. It speaks to our growth and capacity as human beings.

The book generally centres on the life of a Jewish family and how their daughter’s fate becomes entwined with that of a French nobleman at a time when the Germans and the French were at war. It culminates the beginning of world war one and how the family went on to be affected by the second world war their conversion to Christianity notwithstanding. It’s a good read for a fresh perspective on how bad it got and the whole source of the Hitler policies. It may be a work of fiction but Danielle does a fine job of weaving fact and fiction to create a compelling read. It will make you think of your history, of how your parents met, of how some things inherent in your present are echoes of the past from your family like the habits you have and convictions. It will make you analyse who you are and the kind of person you want to be. But more than anything, it proves that in as far as love is such a powerful driving force, an even more compelling attribute of our humanity is HOPE.

Add this to your book list for 2016 because in my famous words “You have to read this!”

PS: One of my new year resolutions is to stick to my book reading challenge and share the books I have read with you guys so that we can promote the reading culture. Fingers crossed. 1 down…51 more to go

Happy New Reading Adventure Year!

Leave a Reply

